F2 and DLSU players

by Admin User ● May 19, 2016,3:48 am

Former and current De La Salle players will again share the court when the 2016 Philippine Superliga (PSL) All-Filipino Conference women’s volleyball tournament unfurls on June 18.

Mika Reyes, Cyd Demecillo, Kim Fajardo and Kim Dy, stalwarts of the reigning UAAP champions that dethroned the Alyssa Valdez-led Ateneo de Manila Lady Eagles last month in a thrilling best-of-three decider, will banner F2 Logistics in a reunion with veterans Cha Cruz, Stephanie Mercado and Aby Marano.

DLSU coach Ramil de Jesus will call the shots for the Cargo Movers, composed of the Lady Spikers core except for Carol Cerveza.

Open spiker Ara Galang is also expected to join her La Salle teammates, but she has yet to decide whether to go through the draft or just wiggle her way as a direct hire of F2 Logistics.

Majority of the current DLSU players need not to go through the annual draft as they already played in the import-laden Grand Prix for Meralco last season.

Fajardo, the 78th UAAP Best Setter, said that the team is looking forward to play better this conference after an unsuccessful stint in the Grand Prix where Meralco finished fifth in the six-team field.

“Looking forward na po ako sa PSL,” said the playmaker, who added that despite their forgettable outing the experience they gained playing against powerhouse clubs and world class foreign players in the PSL prepared them to regain the UAAP title.

“Titingnan natin kung anong mangyayari (sa kampanya namin) pero All-Filipino naman and puro mga taga-La Salle naman ang kasama ko. Kaya lalaban kami talaga,” she added.

Cerveza, on the other hand, signed up for Grand Prix champion Foton where she will be joined by University of Santo Tomas stars EJ Laure and Cherry Rondina – both direct hires.

Meanwhile, the 3rd Annual Rookie Draft is slated on May 27 at the third floor lobby of SM Aura in Taguig City.

Former NCAA Most Valuable Player and champion CJ Rosario leads the list of this year’s draft hopefuls.

Rosario’s Arellano teammates Danna Henson and Angelica Legacion, Davao standout Mary Grace Berte and former National University playmaker Jocelyn Soliven as well as Renelyn Raterta, Sarina Bulan, Christine Suyao, Marlyn Llagoso, Jerra Mae Pacinio, Gen Casugod, Jonafer San Pedro, Kristine Dave, Loraine Palomar, Eloisa Medina, Sheryl Laborte, Lourdes Patilano and Suzette Salas signed up for the draft pool.

Three-time champion RC Cola-Army owns the first pick followed by Generika, University of Perpetual Help, Standard Insurance, F2 Logistics, Cignal, Petron and Foton.

The draft order, however, is still subject to change as the league will have a three-day trading period starting 12 noon of May 24 until the draft proper on May 27.

Prior to that, coaches will get a chance to see the rookie hopefuls in action as the league stages a pre-draft camp on Tuesday at The Arena in San Juan.

The potential rookies will also get a chance to test their skills in a friendly match against the PSL All-Star team following the pre-draft camp.

SOURCE:  http://sports.abs-cbn.com/volleyball/news/2016/05/19/reunion-set-dlsu-stars-psl-all-filipino-conference-11520